The Isle of Pines Treaty

January 9, 1925
Entire Report

Note: The Isle of Pines treaty was ratified by the Senate in the special session convened March 4, by a vote of 63 to 14, on Friday March 13, 1925.

Senators who voted against ratification were:

Republicans(6) Demecrats(7)
Borah Fernald Ashurat Heflin
Brookhart Frazier Blease McKellar
Cummins Wills Copeland Reed(Mo.)

Farmer Labor (1) Shipstead

Reservations by Senators Borah and Read were adopted as a part of the resolution of ratification.

The Borah reservations provided that all provisions of existings and future treaties between the United States and Cuba shall apply to the territory and inhabitants of the Isle of Pines. The reservation was intended to make certain the applications of the Platt amendment to the Isle of Pines.

The read reservation provided that the term “other foreignore” as used in the treaty should be construed to mean foreignore who received the most favorable treatment under the Government of Cuba. The reservation was intended to insure most favored nation treatment for Americans in the Isle of Pines.

The Isle of Pines treaty, shortly to come before the Senate for final action, was negotiated and signed at Washington March 2, 1904 by Secretary of State John Hay and Cuban Minister Gonzalo de Quesada. In the treaty the United States relinquishes all claim of title to the Isle of Fines in favor of

ISSUE TRACKER for Related Reports
International Law and Agreements
Regional Political Affairs: Latin America and the Caribbean